Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Where I'm moving, why I'm moving, and maybe even how

I'd posted an entry stating that I'd update about the things that'd happened somewhat recently. Of course, I'm not going to write about that stuff. Instead I'm going to write about the stuff that's happened really recently.

Our property manager rented out our apartment after we told her that we wanted to stay. We only found this out because a man mistakenly stopped by to see our apartment so we went and talked to the property manager. She was a huge bitch and didn't care that we intended to stay. Therefore, everyone should avoid AM Management in Iowa City because they treat their tenants like shit.

Lisa and I spent most of our time for the last 2 days searching desperately for an apartment. Today, after dropping Lisa off at work, I found a place that's awesome. It's closer to downtown/campus, it's cheaper and it's much more spacious. We sign the lease tomorrow, but the place is definately ours.

There is an additional problem though. We have to be out of this place by noon on the 28th. Because Lincoln Management just purchased the place we're moving into and the deal's not final until August 5th, we can not move into there until August 6th. That leaves us with no place for our belongings, our cats, and ourselves for 9 days. To make matters more complicated, my sister gets married on the 6th.

We'll figure it out though. I may be able to have Katie take care of my cats for the 9 days. I'm also hoping to be able to borrow mom's trailer to load things into. If I did that, we could hopefully store the loaded trailer in Chad's garage for the 9 days and then take it to the new place. I'm sure someone will be wiling to let us crash at their place, so I'm not overly worried about that, but possessions and cats are more difficult to find places for.

So, that's what's been happening for the last two days. I'm happy about the new place, but not so happy about the abruptness of the whole situation and the lack of planning. Additionally, we didn't have any money saved up for this, so things are going to be really tight for a while as all of our money will be paying for this move. Mucho denero thanks to my sister for letting me miss a month on my loan payment so I can afford to get a place to live.

this is me.
i was writed on 2005-07-13 at 8:53 p.m.
i was writed before this and i was writed after this
i make comments here and you can make comments here