Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Broken dreams of broken cats

I woke up today to a dream that left me upset. The dream:
I sit next to a box and there are two men with me. I open the box and there at 14 frozen cats inside. 2 black, 4 white, 4 yellowish-orangish, and 4 calico. I can see the 2 empty spots where there must have been 2 other black cats earlier. I'm told to pick one and it's mine. I get a black one out, because it reminds me of my kitten, Decepticon Baby. It thaws almost immediately after I take it out of the box. It doesn't meow or anything but it squirms a lot and likes to walk around my legs in circles. I'm told that I need to kill it because this is my food.
I can do that. I don't know this cat. It's just my dinner.
I can't though. Every time I lift the cat and prepare myself to bash it's head against the cement at my feet I get really upset. My stomach turns and I imagine the cat's head exploding and showering me in gore. I decide this will be much easier if the cat isn't black, so I need to pick another cat. I don't know if, or how, I can refreeze this one though. Furthermore, I don't want the two men with me to know that I can't kill this one, even for food, just because I keep getting upset.
I woke up then. My stomach was slightly upset. I'm still kinda bothered. Not because I was going to kill a cat, but because I couldn't. I was scared for and sympathetic for that cat. What really bothered me is that my sympathy and fear weren't enough for me to care. I was still worried about the consequences of trying to choose another cat. I was holding a life in my hands, considering ending it and I was only concerned about what it would mean to me. And what it would mean to me if I didn't.
Is this what it is to be human? To worry only about yourself?

this is me.
i was writed on 2006-08-28 at 12:33 p.m.
i was writed before this and i was writed after this
i make comments here and you can make comments here