Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Fun Story?

Tonight one of my co-workers was talking on her cell phone in the break room. For whatever reason, she decided to sit next to me in the otherwise empty break room. Therefore I couldn't help but overhear her conversation. To be honest, I would've probably listened in anyway, because I wasn't doing anything but eating, so she was my entertainment.
Oh, you want me to get to the point and tell the story. It's not that I'm a bad storyteller, it's that the journey to the story is half the fun. Perhaps it's not half the fun, but the story will probably be less fun than you're expecting, so I'm trying to make the journey entertaining. If I had a camera, I'd post a naked picture of myself right here so everyone could truly enjoy the journey to the story. If anyone wants to buy me a digicam, I promise to supply them with naked pictures of myself. Think about that. Dream about that.
Hey! I was telling a story. I'm distracting me, and that's completely unacceptable. Discipline is probably required. Eh, there's no one around to stop me so if I get sidetracked I'll probably have to continue on my track for a bit until I become sidetracked again and eventually all the detours I take in my thought process will return me back to the original path a bit further along. That sentence was fairly long and either not nearly complex enough or overly complex. You decide. Perhaps put it to a vote. Ask those around you. If you don't feel that your opinion should be based on the opinions of those around you, don't put it to a vote. Simply lie and claim you did. I'm not going to know any better.
I'm currently wearing half a shoe. No, my shoes suffered no damage. My left one is simply off because my left foot is tucked under my right leg lotus style. My right one is halfway on because that foot is slightly cold but I don't want to sit uncomfortably (still lotus style) so I need it to be slightly removed from my foot. Just thought I'd share.
At this point, I think the journey has become more important than the story and has surpassed it's previous value of half the fun. We'll reassess the fun quotient when we arrive at our destination: the end. Maybe we'll be surprised by the fun we've had.
I'm going to tell the story now. Well, that's what I intend to do. I'm not making any promises regarding this story though.
When we last parted ways (with the story) my co-worker was sitting unnecessarily close to me in the break room and talking on her cell phone. She called someone to get someone else's phone number. When she called the second number, it didn't work, so she bitches about "those fucking mexicans" not giving her the right number. This is not the important part of the story. One could call it foreshadowing. However, don't expect a roving gang of mexicans to suddenly enter the story and her to suddenly become oh so embarrassed. Although that would probably be better than what's coming up. Read on:
My co-worker calls a new person. She awakens them at 7 PM. I don't care, this part's not important. She's discussing Christmas presents with one of her family members. More specifically she's discussing the person who she is buying presents for and the person that will receive presents from the person she is talking to. Both people receiving presents in this story are young males. Both are younger than 12. I gathered this from her conversation. I was listening. So her and her conversation partner are trying to decide what can be purchased for the young male not related to her. She suggests a skateboard, but points out that those are expensive and dangerous. Foreshadowing, again. They talk about some things not present related before returning to the previous discussion of reasonable gifts. Then I overhear something that truly peeks my ears. My co-worker suggests buying the kid a gun because her and her boyfriend will be getting all of their boys guns this year. They feel that they deserve them. I figure her son's getting a paintball gun or a laser tag gun or some other form of non-lethal weapon. See, I don't need to tell you what she really meant because I used foreshadowing, so you already know how this is going to turn out. It wouldn't be as fun to simply leave this dangling though, because it's the way I discovered that toys were not involved in this Christmas present. My co-worker says, "We're getting [boy's name] a 12-gage. Yeah. Yeah. And we're getting [different boys name] one too." See she wasn't talking about getting these kids BB guns or even 22s. She's getting them big guns.
The moral of this story is that my story sucks and I shouldn't have told it because the journey to get there was better. My final assessment of fun ratio is: journey to story - 80% & story - 15% with a 5% ambient fun factor.

this is me.
i was writed on 2006-11-27 at 12:40 a.m.
i was writed before this and i was writed after this
i make comments here and you can make comments here